Thursday 26 April 2012

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts-

Hmm Hmm…Don’t mind us as we puff out our masculine chest and spew machismo all about.  Oh, sorry didn’t mean to get sweat all over your precious new Athleta Yoga top.  Feel free to slide off your comfy Sanuks before you settle in this morning on the couch.  We just poured a nice cup of Mr. Grey and chances are the kettle is still warm as evidence of the stream still gently rising into the air.  If for some chance you thought things could not get any worse around here after yesterday’s Nickelback, Facts vs. Ignorance and dog balls post?  Think again dear peep, its Thursday!!!  Speaking of which we have never invited you into our pristine kitchen arena here at CultFit HQ?  How rude…

We love food and heating things up in the microwave and basically we would like to share some of our offerings with you.  So without further delay…Feast your eyes on our picturesque dinning options and like we always do on Thursday  “Best Caption Wins Something”:

The Plan-

The Workout-

Rest Day

Without spouting off and going on a twisting rant we understand that Rest Days are the hardest part of your workout program.  “Like duh…How do I get better by meditating in the car on the way to work?”  or “Shit Son…I have a race this weekend and I am 15 miles low for my mileage this week!”

The simple truth:  Your hyper stimulated brain never needs to rest: Go, Go, Go all the time!  Problem is:  You have this thing called “Your Body” and your body secretly hates your brain and every thing your brain does to it.  Is it too much to ask to listen to your body for one day?  Luckily for you dear peeps we have a “Body” and a “Brain” on retainer here at CultFit HQ…Here is a recent conversation we overheard in the bathroom three stalls over:

BODY– “I’m sore, that’s all.”

BRAIN– “I wonder who else is in here?  Work sucks, kids are turds, what is the rep scheme today?  God Vancouver sucks and the Penguins blew it!  Damn Russians and who ever liked the Sedin twins to begin with?  Jesus, look at this!  Who put the toilet paper in the dispenser backwards?  Now I’m screwed with bad luck for the rest of the day!  Shit I forgot my lunch…Well Whole Foods is right next door to work, I’ll just do that instead of going home  in lunch traffic.  Hmm if I do go home I could stop by the co-op and do some yoga at YogaMed?  Yeah, sounds like a plan.  Almost forgot about the NFL draft, talk about a bunch of losers that watch that crap for four days straight!  Tom Brady is still hot as hell!!!  Time to wipe and go someone is coming in…Ahhh man not right next to me…”

BODY– “I’m sore, that’s all.”

Notes:

Have an awesome day, Rest Up and ENJOY!!!


23 Comments on “Thursday 26 April 2012”

  1. Dr Ken Romeo says:

    Pooh is a classic. Good job as always.

  2. urbanbeings says:

    my glass is too small, my glass is too small:
    my
    glass
    is
    too
    SMALL
    i am a cookie, I am a cookie, i… am… a… coooooookkkieeeeee!

  3. Amanda says:

    HA! My brain sounds more like my body – “Dude, you’re sore.”

  4. jessicalodom says:

    Rest days…my brain and body never agree on this. But I haven’t had one since Friday, so thanks for the push!

  5. I’m definitely going to follow this advice since my body is basically screaming at me to rest.

  6. The Bachelor Cookie: you were hooked up with a beautiful talk glass of milk and obviously your bloated chocolate ego is too big for her. Time to say good bye…. one bite at a time my friend. 🙂

  7. Stephie says:

    Olive says: “I gotta stay outta the martinis.”

  8. I will rest and eat cookies! Thanks for the reminder to recover!!

    • CultFit says:

      Cookies and rest…A match made in heaven!!! I love your workouts and reading your blog. Do you feel like sharing a workout with all of us for tomorrow?

  9. Annika S says:

    Hey, just thought I’d drop my 2 cents in: you can actually quieten your mind via meditation – to have that peace and quiet from all the mental chatter is wonderful! Also I thought you might enjoy an article I wrote ‘Natural Ways to Boost your Energy’ http://bit.ly/JJurT3 might come in handy 🙂 Also if your interested, next weeks post deals with meditation to create energy.

  10. fashionblogy says:

    I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can see the post here: http://fashionblogy.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/versatile-blogger-award/ Congratulations! Here’s the website if you want more info on your award: http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/


Please feel free to reply and join the conversation