Got Me Wrong

 Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony-

What did you love to do the most as a child?  Shove crayons up your nose?  Draw pretty pictures with said crayons?  Maybe you enjoyed playing a musical instrument or was it reenacting a great story you just finished reading?  For many of us, it was exploring the wonders of the world by simply being outside, like immersed in nature.  Poison ivy and all.  What if we shared a secret with you?  Only if you promise not to share it with anyone else … You can find greater energy and inspiration today by reconnecting with what you enjoyed the most as a child:  Sign up for an art class at a local college or community center, volunteer to give musical lessons to today’s generation.  Or, our favorite:  Leave your shoes at home and head out the door for an early morning walk before the world awakens around you.

CultFit Tree

The Workout-

Balance Beam Work, Dead Man Rolls, Inversion(s) and a very light and flowing Ashtanga Yoga Series = शांति

Notes:

By reconnecting with our long-lost gifts we can reclaim our “sense” < — Hint from yesterday Our true passion in life.

What are some of your gifts (seriously peeps: let ’em fly and chime in) and how do you plan on utilizing them today?

Picture 002

24 Comments on “Got Me Wrong”

  1. As a child, I loved playing outside. All of those years of playing in the woods, I’ve become quite the expert fort builder. Can I list that on my resume? Just kidding but I like this message. Today I will think, how can I help my friends and family, knowing I am a free spirit who enjoys being outside and one with nature. 🙂

    • CultFit says:

      I think expert fort builder would work quite well on a resume: “Could you please go into more detail about your fort building experience?” Sure, I would love to … imagine the direction of the interview after this?!? 😉 Hope you are feeling better!

  2. Sandra says:

    Indeed. I went back to camping, photography, and biking. All things I gave up when I married the wrong guy the first time around. I cannot believe how happy I am now. 🙂 I’m even a little bit good in photography:
    http://www.sandramathewsphotography.com/nawakwa/
    AND I got back to writing, too! (go look at my video that describes my next project, if you’re bored):
    http://www.usaprojects.org/project/the_best_hell_ever_be

  3. LizForADay says:

    Being outside and going on made up adventures with my brothers was the most fun for us. I try to treat everyday like an adventure. Sometimes it turns into more of challenge than an adventure. 🙂

  4. urbanbeings says:

    mmmm… crayons are tasty… especially the blue ones

    • CultFit says:

      They have a refreshing minty quality to them, I think. 🙂 Remember the markers we had as kids the smelled like the color? Grape for purple etc. For the life of me I can’t remember the smell of blue ones … blueberry maybe?

      • urbanbeings says:

        yes! they were excellent 🙂 can;t remember the smell of the blue ones either, probably blueberry! then again, not sure i would even know exactly what a blueberry would smell like now! sweet and fruity 😉

  5. Back when things were much simpler. I’ll probably just give my kid a branch and a ball, send them outside and say “use your imagination”. No technology nonsense in the early stages. hahaha.

    • CultFit says:

      I know right! The moment we woke up as kids we were outside, otherwise there were choirs to be done. And we both know those are not much fun, then and now 🙂 Take care today!

  6. Susan says:

    When I was a kid, I had an insatiable addiction to Duck Hunt. Ebay, here I come!

  7. tsena says:

    hey there,
    I love what you do, what an inspiration you are and you are a great support of my blog, so, how would you like to participate in a blog-hop? I have been “tagged” by a Writer / Blogger Author Stephanie Renee DeSantos to participate in a blog hop interview called “The Next Big Thing”. The blog hop has been underway for some time now — and my turn has just come up!

    It is like chain mail, where each person answers interview questions and posts them on their blog on a specific day and links to the person who “tagged” you to participate. Here is an example blog post: http://www.bgdenvil.com/ . It is a way for us to link our blogs with many, many, many others to support exposure for our work-in-progress or a recently published work– may they be novels, chapbooks, etc…

    I will be posting on January 12, 2013 and you are one of the 5 writers I am “tagging”! I hope you will/can participate on this day too! Please let me know if you will be able to link and post. And any questions on how it works—just ask. If you are interested, let me know asap and I will send my email and you can send me your bio.

    You can see Stephanie’s recent post at http://www.stephaniereneedossantos.com/

  8. JennyO says:

    Love this… I have a hard time with the balance in the last few weeks.. I miss being outside here, I’ll need to find a way to bring that balance back. My yoga is a must in my life… when I was a kid simple play – riding my bike and feeling the wind in my piggy tails!

    • CultFit says:

      We all are, with the holidays and New Year … It really is a hard time of year to get “things” just right in our lives. By allowing yoga to be your sweet spot, point of balance? I don’t doubt you will be able to find your balance again, on a bike, with your piggy tails flailing all about. 😉 Take care and be well today!

  9. That’s a nice reminder – and good thought for today. Thanks!

  10. Drawing, reading, playing dress up, and gazing out the window at trees. Those were my faves. Maybe I’ll find a coloring book to play with…


Please feel free to reply and join the conversation

