Serenity Now

If you light a lamp for somebody, it will also brighten your own path-

For most of us, running/cycling/working out (_______ Insert anything here) is a very personal space.  Some would say sacred?!?  This sacred space tends to be more personal than our homes, work and personal lives because we choose not to share this space with others.

When we start to unravel after having a bad weekend, the first place we are likely to show up at is back in our personal space.

One item we want to quickly highlight here is not necessarily showing discipline (going to the gym day in and day out) … It’s about paying attention. It’s about not getting distracted by the eventualities of life and the “things” that come up each and every day, but, rather:  Staying mindful of the messages we receive and remaining proactive in our relationship with them.

The Plan-

The Workout-

Our retreat to the basics …

10 Perfect Pull Ups
20 Hard Style KB Swings
30m Bear Crawl/Crab Walk (15m out and 15m back)

20 Minutes sound OK to you?!?

Notes:

The mindful peeps remain clear about all “things” … All of the time, or at least we try to right?!?  This is reflected in the environment we choose to surround us, it’s about discipline.  Going to our sacred space to nourish our bodies and to find balance in our minds.  It’s in this space where we find the discipline of loving, not the discipline of punishment.

If CultFit is a sacred place for you?!?  You really need to get out more … Be well today and ENJOY!!!

18 Comments on “Serenity Now”

  1. AthleteAgain says:

    The first photo reminds me of years and years ago when I lived in Vail, CO. There was a mountain bike trail up Meadow Mountain (about 4 miles from Vail) my then roommate and I use to ride. One day we encountered a flock of sheep on the trail. Completely freaked me out. I was convinced they were going to nip at my feet as I rode through. Irrational thought I’m sure. It turned out to be fine, but I was scared!

  2. Got any advice on how to stop people from envading your personal space?

  3. garagegym107 says:

    For me there is such irony in your post today. I am a giver to a fault. Last week I was fortunate enough to have an hour and half to myself to workout alone. I rarely listen to anything but the background noise in the gym. On that day, I chose to use my headphones and listen to some dubstep music my boy had downloaded for me.

    I’m rambling. I found such peace in that 1.5 hours of time. Glorious unburdened peace. This morning as I pulled up and saw my friends van and actually felt a twinge of guilt in that I was disappointed that I wouldn’t have that alone time. 😉

    • CultFit says:

      I had the day off today in observance of Veterans Day. A rare moment to drop little man off at school and to pick him up. The hours in between I had no idea what to do with all my free time. 🙂

  4. Serenity now? Is it Festivus already? 🙂

  5. Susan says:

    Running is my place to get away from whatever is eating away at me. I don’t consider it running away from things. I just see it as a way to find some clarity. 🙂 Have a great afternoon!

  6. urbanbeings says:

    working out is deeply personal to me. it is funny but when i workout with friends it feels even more rewarding as they are experiencing part of you that the majority of people will never know or understand. great workout! thanks

  7. bekahbeemays says:

    I love this idea of workout as sacred space–that’s why I often like to go running alone! Unless it’s someone really special running with me I get crabby sometimes and feel like they’re in my space (much like that cow).


Please feel free to reply and join the conversation

