Concept : 10 :

Resolve to be tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant with the weak and wrong. Sometime in your life, you will have been all of these-

I would like to wrap the week up by not talking about “No But rather two extremely powerful words, two words that transcend our overuse of “no.”

I Understand

Showing empathy does not drain or deplete our true spirit, our friends. Nor does empathy weaken the strongest of family ties. Empathy empowers us with a special sense of togetherness, a powerful sense of being connected. Empathy, the ability to powerfully understand another person, is invaluable, in every relationship of our lives.

Daily Meditation:

It feels good, doesn’t it? Satisfying and empowering, being on the receiving end of empathy. As parents, friends, yoga instructor(s), pilates even. A training partner at 5am on a rainy Saturday morning Take a moment to pause and reflect on the people you have worked the hardest for in your life. The people who connect and powerfully understand – You.

I feel motivated, when I feel understood. How about you?!?

CultFit Empathy

6 Comments on “Concept : 10 :”

  1. katelon says:

    I agree. When my adult son and i used to have disagreements or I felt hurt by something he and said or done, all I needed him to say was ” I’m sorry you felt hurt, I can understand how you might have taken it that way”. I didn’t need to be right, nor judge him as doing something wrong, but did need to be heard and understood. He never seemed to understand that. I have done that with others, too, on both sides of it. I feel that we all want to be heard, understood and have our feelings be recognized.

  2. JennyO says:

    I love this. I understand is really SO powerful…. how come we forget the simple facts of taking a pause and listening. It seems I find myself in a conversation and I realize neither is acknowledging what the other has said. Just slapping card after card on the table…

    • CultFit says:

      My apologies for the last reply and I hope you and your family had a terrific weekend! Have you ever noticed how folks agree with your thoughts during a conversation before they even pause to listen? The “yup”- “ok” – “cool” – “gotcha” … You may have sparked a new series of posts for me … Thank you!