Winter Balance

What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness-

Its early on a Sunday morning in Eastern Nebraska. The temperature is below zero and bone-chilling. The moon, still glowing, casts a pale and cold shadow upon the newly fallen snow. The last light of distant stars sparkle brilliantly, dancing as the world is still, and glistening.

I bring my cold hands to heart – centre, my palms pressing actively together to bring warmth and presence, the tips of my numb thumbs pressing into my layered sternum. On a deep inhale, I raise my arms in a gentle sweeping motion, turning my palms outward toward the sparkling sky  Balancing myself before starting off on an aimless ride to nowhere in particular.

Daily Meditation:

Cycling (any outdoor activity) during the long Winter months is purely about finding balance, flow and our true selves. Cycling early on a cold winter morning, encourages me to look mindfully into the furtive places of my mind, from which I can view information from my past, this cold moment - slowly and gracefully.

Be well this weekend and please take care!

CultFit Cold

13 Comments on “Winter Balance”

  1. Sandra says:

    Thank you for the reminder. And the bright, colorful, and very extraordinary “sun dog” of earlier this week would never happen had it not been bone chilling cold. :-)

  2. Joy says:

    I have no clue what below 0 feels like (the pacific nw never gets that cold)! Love this post – especially that second paragraph. I always need gentle reminders to slow down and take it all in!

    • CultFit says:

      As much as I complain about the cold weather, something about getting outside, slowing down, and accepting the moment for what it is … Really speaks to me. Its getting outside to play during the winter months, that’s the hard part. ;) I sincerely hope you and your family are doing well, take care and have a fantastic weekend!

  3. katelon says:

    Wow..that’s even colder than Colorado!!

    • CultFit says:

      You and I have had the pleasure in the past to talk about our travels around the world, I would like to add that the coldest climate I have had the opportunity to be in? Is right outside my back door! Cold, unrelenting wind bathing the plains with biting winds – Welcome to the Midwest. :)

    • katelon says:

      So you suggested I would love Nebraska. Perhaps it would be best for me to visit it in the late spring/early summer or fall :)

  4. Maia says:

    Ha! Pffft…
    You haven’t been in Mars ;)

  5. The photo is stunning, we don’t experience snow unless we head up to the mountains, the closest to us being a 2 hour drive away. Not my favourite have to admit, nor the winter, but there is that first cooling day after a long hot summer, that makes you take a breath and smile. Thank you for the follow too, appreciated.