अलग दृष्टिकोण

It’s calm under the waves in the blue of my oblivion-

Pop Quiz Hot Shot(s): Name your favorite restaurant? Cool Now name your greatest strength? Why was the second questions harder to answer … Self reflection, open and honest dialogue and talking about the dirty stuff in our lives. Can we agree that breaking through and acknowledging self-love, our true selves is pretty tricky?

Many of us are blind to our best qualities. When asked to name our strengths, we often come up empty-handed, stumble for words and say something that isn’t very meaningful. We tend to overlook the very essence of our true selves, our core qualities, our strengths. The craziness of daily life, past injuries, lamenting a medical diagnosis – hypnotizes, controls, and impedes our progress moving forward.

Sometimes it is easier to “see” our true selves when viewing from a different angle.

Daily Meditation:

What are your passions in life? Seriously, please do not blow off what I am about to write

What activities fill your heart with love and warmth? What activities are effortless and give you a sense of passion and freedom? Biking, yoga, playing a drop in hockey game, talking with your best friend over lunch, trying a new restaurant on a first date? Dig deep in your soul for a definitive answer! Like you, its effortless for me to construct such a list of passion(s).

What follows is what I hope you dwell on this weekend: What character strengths you are using during each activity? Confidence riding a new trail, honoring yourself during a strenuous power yoga class, moderation playing hockey, listening attentively over lunch, openness to exploring new “thingsThese are your greatest strengths!!!

CultFit Strength

25 Comments on “अलग दृष्टिकोण”

  1. My favorite restaurant is what my husband and I create in our own kitchen.
    My greatest strength is active listening.

    Onward!

    • CultFit says:

      Beautiful! I have been conducting research for this post for the past week or so. Harassing friends and coworkers by simply asking two very harmless questions, the first answer flows like fine wine, the second one however pours like molasses that had been sitting outside on a cold winters day.
      I hope the two of you create some amazing dishes and memories this weekend, take care!

    • CultFit – As a Holistic Health Practitioner, it’s imperative that I practice what I preach. Hence, we create meals with the NUTRITION/Calorie ratio in mind (emphasis on nutrition). And while I’m label-adverse, I heartily embrace the Buddhist practice of Satsang — sacred listening. Make it a fantastic weekend!

  2. I don’t have a favorite restaurant but there are many I enjoy.

    My greatest strength is my willingness to embrace that I have strengths and am enjoying discovering them. :) Great post!

    • CultFit says:

      My apologies for the late reply, It was an “unplugged” and “outdoors” weekend here. :)
      The aim of this post was to to provide a subtle shift of perspective, focusing of the positives more than digging trough the negatives. I hope you have a beautiful week ahead of you, take care!

    • No worries here. Unplugged and outdoor weekends are THE best. :) We had a good bit of positivity through out our weekend. Thank you!

  3. Maia says:

    Haha! And I said ‘Uhmmm” first before responding to the second question. Such a trickster!! I was fast though… many strengths flashed before my eyes… *laughing madly*

    And what the friggin heck is the sanskrit title? It’s either allegation, alighting, or alligator…
    Alligator sounds about right. ;)

    • CultFit says:

      Trickster? Hmm .. Psychology – Even the title, subtle coloring of certain key words, italicization of other words and key points … All rooted in psychology. Our minds, more than “anything” else, need to be stretched and worked out … ;)

  4. bgddyjim says:

    Q’doba Mexican Grill and I am a great dad… The second was harder because there are so many good things to sort through! ;)

    Have a great weekend my friend.

    • CultFit says:

      Apologies for the late reply mate … Little dude and i managed to fit in a few bike rides (off the trainer) this weekend. I’m starting to get that itch to break free, now only if the weather will cooperate?!? Thank you for sharing as well, tricky questions to spring on you, although they really hit home – Like a chicken burrito bowl from Q’doba!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Mine is the nachos. I love the nachos.

  5. Sandra says:

    It was a place in New Mexico called Fiorellos. A family from New York, they made their own noodles (and they were always too thick–which I LOVED) and their lasagna was to die for. They served the meal with little square dinner rolls. I could’ve eaten forty of them at each sitting. ;-)
    They sold out and it’s just a bar. I’d pay to eat at their kitchen table. ;-)
    Strengths, eh? Procrastination!

  6. katelon says:

    Great post. My greatest strengths are my strength, my courage, my perseverance, my compassion, curiosity, open mind and heart, listening deeply, my willingness to be authentic and vulnerable, my commitment to work through whatever keeps me from deeply engaging with life or another.

    • CultFit says:

      As always, thank you for your support! Two seemingly simple and passive questions that resonate deeply when given the proper attention. :)

  7. Rainee says:

    Great post. My favourite restaurant is at Brookland Valley Winery in the South West of Western Australia. My greatest strength is patience :-)

  8. angelis80 says:

    Reblogged this on Awakening of Humanity and commented:
    Know thy Self….