Tuesday 24 April 2012

A dog that is lying on garbage may happen to think of its past lives and repent for it. But when it catches a new smell, it runs after it! Likewise is this mind-

**Yes, thank you.  We are in a better mood today!  Green tea and dark chocolate at 6am will do that!?!**

One of the greatest lessons (so we were told…) from the Life of Pi (Yann Martel) is actually quite simple. You can get used to anything…

So when we start talking about humility please do not think that we believe you should be considered self-effacing.  Actually, its 180 degrees from this…Stepping back and thinking about this topic for a moment.  As you become more self-aware, you place more value yourself.  This is when we truly start to become humble.

For to long we have thought that the definition of being humble needed an element of failure,  Just ask Uncle Pliny!  He is of course our resident gimp here at CultFit HQ.  It was not until recently that his orthopedic surgeon gave him this ultimatum:  “Your body cannot take this abuse much longer.  Three major surgery’s in the last 2 years…I like taking money from you but seriously?”

Awareness and humility…Hmm?

As always we are not the experts here…

Loving Others Without Loving Yourself: A Reconsideration

Of Mind and Body  <—If you read only one iota of our message today?  Make it this, please?!?

The Plan-

The Workout-

One of readers sent in a fave program of theirs that really is a blast.  Give it a go and let us know how you made out?!?

Swim/Trail Run/Whatever…Until you are thoroughly Warmed Up (We know that not all of you have access to a pool, the sea or a river.  If you do?  Swimming in our opinion is hands down the best way to Warm Up, followed closely by a Brisk Walk.)

You will need:  A wide open space, one kettle bell and yourself of course.  Pay closer attention to length today rather than reps and time…A soccer pitch, a ball field:  Something that in essence gives a good frame of reference for length (Ja Ja go ahead and say it perv?).

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Waiters Walk for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Over Head Walking Lunge for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Thread the Needle Reverse Walking Lunge for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Heartbeat Press/Walk for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Alternating Goblet Squat for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

One Turkish Get Up…Stay standing and Hard Style KB Swings for a bit.  Rinse and Repeat with the other arm.

That’s it!  Remember our golden rule here about putting weight above our heads?  If you can’t handle the weight hitting you in the head…Don’t put the weight above your head to begin with!

You can do this program indoors quite successfully,  if you use your imagination.  Outdoors is our preferred method due to the fact that all the Yoga Moms running by think we’re nuts?  Wonder what they are doing at X-Fit later…

Notes:

The program above really embodies our training approach here:  Time is  relative and  a marginal tool to measure results, Form, Flow, Grace and Awareness are infinitely more important to our overall health.  If you want to experiment with time to see for yourself?  Do the above program in 10 minutes?  It can be done although Form goes to hell as well as Grace…Be safe if you perform the program today and most importantly, ENJOY!!!

22 Comments on “Tuesday 24 April 2012”

  1. urbanbeings says:

    love you golden rule about weight over head :) i have one that states you shouldn’t eat anything bigger than your head… tried it once, not pretty!

  2. vgrandja says:

    Over here the weather is not warm enough for outdoor swimming but I am brisk walking 1.5 hours today (with a break half-way). If I can maybe I’ll do a second 1.5 hour brisk walk today. I did my stretches when I woke up. See my post – today’s date.

    • CultFit says:

      Walking is so underrated and over looked. Personally it gives me the time to listen to my body for a bit and make sure everything is in order before carrying on. Hope you get out for your second walk today!

    • vgrandja says:

      Hi! Yes I have. I did extra today. First 1.5 hours with a 15 minute break for my lower back and then and additional 30 minutes. I felt pretty bad about the piece of cake I had yesterday so I walked more today. Funny thing: when something is bugging me lately I go for the sweets. Exercising isn’t so far helping reduce the fat on my body and I still feel like eating 3-4 times a week the things that are not good for my body. I wish my metabolism was high but it isn’t.

  3. Amanda says:

    The nights are not so condusive to sleeping at a decent hour anymore…light out until 11:30 when you get up at 4 am is just mean! I used the time this morning to get a few more Zs when I know that I am good for a run in the afternoon.

  4. Is it wrong that I loved the pics/clips you chose just as must as the text of the post? ;)

    • CultFit says:

      Not at all! As a matter of fact 9 out of 10 posts are normally about respecting and listening to your body…So if you read for two weeks you’re set. Now the pics are completely random and playful. Some days they tie in with the theme of the post. Others, I just think they are cool and want to share with you!

  5. I love to walk, and I have the perfect place. There is a beautiful park not far from me with a lovely walking trail. I try to make it at least 3 to 4 times per week.

    • CultFit says:

      So cool, Walking is great in a lot of different ways. Plus, you love to walk which is key…We have done a lot in our lives and no matter what (personally) I always remember a good walk over a run or whatever else.

  6. Turkish get ups are awesome!!

  7. Thanks for Your Likes and Follows Guys! Love this post also and we agree with your 80/20 philosophy. Mr Bean is sooo… mean but such a scream. I’d like to see him with the tables turned. I love his getting to work skit THE most!!!

  8. Even i think that swimming combined with any other exercise is the best but i dont get to swim though I have a pool right in front of my home….How did u get to my blog? May i know pls?

  9. [...] Tuesday 24 April 2012 [...]

  10. For some reason it seems to me that “gratitude” is tied to humility too. :-)